The 2019 East Tennessee Preservation Awards were announced on Thursday, November 14, at the Bijou Theatre in downtown Knoxville. The East Tennessee Preservation Awards recognize outstanding individuals, organizations, and projects contributing to the protection of East Tennessee’s heritage.
2019 Knox County Award Winners
Partner in Preservation Award
Knox Heritage is pleased to recognize Mayor Madeline Rogero for her leadership in historic preservation through the City of Knoxville’s Historic Preservation Fund and Façade Improvement Program. The Preservation Fund alone has assisted 39 preservation projects in this community since 2015, including the Bijou Theater, Kern’s Bakery, the Mabry-Hazen House, Keeton Jewelers, the Hull-Dobbs Building, and the Cal Johnson Building (just to name a few). The Mayor and this Fund has been instrumental to Knox Heritage in helping us save the Lloyd Branson house, two threatened historic homes in Fort Sanders, and writing National Register nominations for Pryor Brown Garage, Standard Knitting Mills, and the expansion of the Emory Place Historic District. She was quick to work with Knox Heritage on partnering to explore saving the original St. Mary’s Hospital Building as well. As Mayor, there is much to attend to on a daily basis and we take this time to thank you for your service to this community and for being a great partner with Knox Heritage.
Many wonderful things have been happening in the historic Burlington Commercial District, including the recently restored Keeton Jewelers Building at 3900 Martin Luther King Jr Avenue. Thank you to Ignite Solutions and Brewer Ingram Fuller Architects for restoring this historic building to its former glory.
The town of Farragut purchased the historic Campbell Station Inn in 2013 to become the centerpiece of a park that is being developed on the property. After nearly two centuries of use and generations of additions and modifications, the structure required significant structural repairs. With the help of Brewer Ingram Fuller Architects, deteriorated additions that threatened the integrity of the structure were removed, restoration of important features such as the historic windows, and reconstruction of iconic, character-defining features like the building’s four chimneys, which have been removed.
We thank Elizabeth Sims and Leslie Ackerson for producing the WBIR’s premiere digital-first series, Abandoned Places. This series explores Tennessee’s historic buildings that have been left behind. Some of the historic building featured include, the Gilley’s Hotel, Trew’s Store, Island View School, Knoxville College, Eugenia Williams House and Rule High School.
Adaptive Reuse Award
We thank Smee + Busby Architects for renovating the soon to be abandoned 1930 Marble City United Methodist Church located at 2554 Sutherland Avenue. Many of the existing architectural features were preserved as well as modifying the interior space to accommodate new offices and conference rooms.
After being cared for by the previous family for many years, Millie and Elder Brown purchased Craiglen at 1043 Craigland Court in 2018. They took on the updating of all systems, installation of a new roof, and restoration of the historic gardens. The historic 1926 Charles Barber designed home was built for the owner of Candoro Marble Company, John J. Craig III.
Volunteer of the Year
Kyle Lang has been an exceptional volunteer on the Knox Heritage Special Events Committee for the past 5 years. Kyle has been committed to supporting the organization with her time, talents, ideas, and service. In addition to her work on the Special Events committee, she has also been involved in the planning and organizing of a large Summer Supper each year. We would like to thank her for her service to the organization and preservation-related causes.
Preservation Service Award
Steve Cotham for his service as a commissioner on the Knoxville – Knox County Planning Historic Zoning Commission from 1999 until 2019.
Spirit of Kristopher Award
It takes special, dedicated individuals to take on the renovation of a historic building that is almost too damaged to restore. We are thankful for Dianna and Peter Osickey for restoring the National Register listed General John T. Wilder house at 2027 Riverside Drive. The 1904 home had fallen into severe disrepair over the last 20 years; it was rented to several groups and individuals over this time. The Osickey family purchased the home in 2016 and embarked on a major years-long overhaul of the entire house. At one point, they even discovered a huge colony of bees living inside one of the walls!
Reagan Design + Construction restored this circa 1905 Folk Victorian cottage at 1134 Harvey Street in the Old North Knoxville neighborhood. This house features oak floors, patterned tile, exposed brick and solid wood ladder-style doors. Construction of a two-story addition on the rear of the house follows the footprint of the original back portion of the house that was demolished due to a fire in 2004.
Built in 1926, the iconic Sunhouse Fountain in Sequoyah Hills has been restored to its former glory by the Kingston Pike – Sequoyah Hills Association. The circular wall of the fountain was originally ringed with a dozen bronze frogs that spritzed water into the basin. The frogs had disappeared long ago and using a still from an old black-and-white home movie, artist and neighbor Clark Stewart recreated the frog. The finished product was then used to create the molds to cast the frogs in bronze. Inferno Art Foundry in Union City, Georgia cast the frogs and Dennis Jessie Tile & Masonry completed the work on the fountain.
240 Druid Drive was restored by Kathy Hayden Horn. The 1929 Spanish-Eclectic style house is located in Lindbergh Forest. From May 2016 until June of 2019, Kathy took on the task of faithfully restoring this home to its former glory.
723 East Scott Avenue in the Old North Knoxville neighborhood was restored by Heather and Christopher Casteel. The home was chopped into a duplex, the walls covered with wood paneling, and the front of the house was covered in plywood. The Casteel’s took on a complete interior and exterior renovation, including restoring the original wood floors, repairing plaster walls, structural work, and painting the house a historic color.
Nathan Turnbough and Jess Brewton-Turnbough restored this 1892 Victorian home located at 2723 South Haven Road. These owners did a sensitive renovation, restoring the wood siding, restoring the original wood windows with leaded glass, and restoring the porch.
Johnson Architecture and The Christman Company combined extensive experience and expertise for a $10 million renovation project at the 1903 First Presbyterian Church. The project included full accessibility from multiple entry points, interior upgrades, library, children’s courtyard, columbarium, and update to HVAC systems. Historic elements were preserved during the construction, including the iconic rock on State Street at a redesigned entrance. During the construction, a stained-glass window was discovered in the back of the sanctuary that had been covered up when a balcony was built in 1920. The discovery of unused granite curb pieces that had been tucked inside a hidden spot between buildings was incorporated into the project. The addition of a columbarium along the graveyard’s retaining wall now allows a place for funeral urns to be stored. The church and its cemetery are iconic, highly visible places in downtown Knoxville. The vision of Johnson Architecture and The Christman Company ensure the preservation of this historic site will last another 225 years.
1214 Luttrell Street is a Queen Anne cottage built in 1914 and located in the Forth & Gill neighborhood. Long ago, it was cut into 2 apartment units; one apartment was on the main level and the other was in the attic. The attic unit was entered through a door that was carelessly cut into the front façade. The original porch columns and railings were long gone, as was the original interior staircase. Carol and Jim Hawley moved from Baton Rouge to Knoxville and purchased the house in order to be closer to their daughter (who lives just around the corner at 1022 Eleanor, which won a KH Preservation Award in 2014). They hired Open Door Architecture to design a renovation to the home that would put it back to single-family use. The design included a restoration of the front porch, a reconfiguration of the floor plan to be historically appropriate, and the reconstruction of a new interior staircase to blend with the remaining historic details.
This 1903 Victorian home located at 1811 Riverside Drive was restored to its former glory by Lafayette Investments LLC. The restoration included a complete exterior and interior renovation that included restoring the originally wood flooring, fireplace mantels, and the beautiful original staircase.
The 1910 Fowler-Christenberry House located at 4024 Kingston Pike was renovated by Dewey Hillard. Renovations include new systems, the removal of a non-historic structure on the roof, the removal of the enclosed second level porch that reopened the original design, and the repair of the iconic façade
Glen Craig located at 6304 Westland Drive is a Tudor Revival house designed by Barber & McMurry in 1926. Owners, Jennifer and Blake Bookstaff and Jonathan Miller Architecture & Design constructed an addition to the rear and sides of the house. All the distinctive architectural features, finishes, and stone masonry construction on the main house were preserved. The original steel casement windows were also repaired. We thank the Brookstaff family for building a sensitive addition that blends into the historic architecture of this iconic home.