Emporium Building (3)
112 South Gay Street
This Second Renaissance Revival–style building was built in 1902, and designed by L.C. Waters as the new home of Sterchi Brothers Furniture Store. At the turn of the 21st century, partnering with the City of Knoxville in the project, developer David Dewhirst purchased the property from Kristopher Kendrick and renovated the building into residential and commercial spaces. One of the unique features of the building is that it still retains access to underground Gay Street.