VERY IMPORTANT! Venue Change for Knox Heritage Preservation Awards Celebration ~ Nov 19

VENUE CHANGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sponsored By DIY Network


Thursday, November 19th 5:00pm

VENUE CHANGE – The Standard – 416 W. Jackson Avenue

Parking available across W. Jackson Avenue

Due to an unexpected scheduling conflict, Knox Heritage’s Preservation Awards Celebration on Thursday, November 19, will be held at The Standard, located at 416 West Jackson Avenue in downtown Knoxville.  Parking is free and available across the street.

We will honor the best preservation projects and leaders in Knoxville and Knox County in a venue that symbolizes what is possible when historic buildings are restored for new purposes.  Please be our guest for a reception between 5:00 and 6:00 p.m. where you will enjoy time with the ever-growing community of people who are passionate about preservation and who appreciate all the benefits it is bringing to our region.

Beginning at 6:00 p.m. we will celebrate the accomplishments of the last year and welcome our nationally acclaimed guest for the evening: Thompson M. Mayes, winner of the 2013 National Endowment for the Arts Rome Prize in Historic Preservation and Vice President and Senior Counsel of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. During his six months at the American Academy in Rome, he wrote a series of thoughtful and inspirational pieces entitled, “Why Do Old Places Matter?” that will help define how and why we preserve old places in the coming decades. Read the full series of blog posts HERE. Then we’ll honor the people and organizations that have wowed us all over the last year by breathing new life into historic buildings and neighborhoods. Mayor Tim Burchett and Mayor Madeline Rogero will be on hand to present special awards and we promise you’ll leave inspired and proud of how our community has embraced preservation as a path to a vibrant future. .

The Preservation Awards Celebration is sponsored by DIY Network and is free and open to the public. So, bring a friend and help us thank the winners for the gifts they have given to our entire community.