Knox Heritage Announces the 2015 Preservation Awards

rick doverThe Knoxville History Project - The Knoxville MercuryTT BookOakwood Senior LivingTennessee_Knox_Westmoreland Water Wheel, Wheelhouse, and Gatepost_06Volunteer of the Year - Melissa CharlesbookerrobertclrThe Given House©2015 Denise Retallack©2015 Denise RetallackPicture1The Front Porch - 1509 W. Emory RoadFountain garageRiverdale-school-knox-tn1603 Kenesaw AvenueJackson TerminalThe Regas Building - 318 N. Gay StreetGibbs DriveEY 68049 Huffaker Ferry Road Barn AfterMartin-Russell House1645 Laural


“Fantastic Fifteen” Honored With Other Distinguished Winners

Knox Heritage held its Annual Meeting and Preservation Awards on Thursday evening, November 19, at the Standard Knoxville.  The meeting, led by Knox Heritage Board President Rick Blackburn and Executive Director Kim Trent, featured guest speaker Thompson Mayes, Vice President and Senior Counsel for the National Trust for Historic Preservation and a recipient of the National Endowment for the Arts Rome Prize in Historic Preservation in 2013. Over 150 Knox Heritage members, award honorees, and special guests gathered to celebrate the successful year of the non-profit historic preservation organization and to recognize the best in preservation within Knox County.

The 2015 award winners are as follows:

Preservationist of the Year

Rick Dover – Dover Development

Preservation Leadership

Knoxville City Council, Mayor Madeline Rogero, City of Knoxville Community Development Department

Historic Preservation Fund

Demolition Delay Ordnance

Sprit of Kristopher Award

The Knoxville History Project

The Knoxville Mercury

The Greystone Award

The Historic Tennessee Theatre Foundation, Jack Neely & Robin Easter Design

The Tennessee Theatre: A Grand Entertainment Palace

Knox County Mayor Award

Dover Development

Oakwood Senior Living – 232 E. Churchwell Avenue

Mayor of Knoxville Award

Westmoreland Heights Neighborhood Association

Westmoreland Waterwheel and Gate House

Volunteer of the Year

Melissa Charles

Media Award

Robert Booker – Knoxville New Sentinel Weekly Column

Fantastic Fifteen

James & Pamela Given/William Andrews Architects/Andy Blackburn Construction

The Given House/2520 Maple Drive (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Julie & Adam Braude/Open Door Architecture

The Braude House/906 Luttrell Street (Preservation Rehabilitation)

John Lynch Sanders & Gina L. Lisenby/Sanders Pace Architecture

The Seymour-Tanner House/417 Little Switzerland Road (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Carl Lansden

1302 White Avenue relocation to 1300 block of Clinch Avenue (Preservation Stewardship)

Bart & Cindy Elkins

The Front Porch/1509 W. Emory Road (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Ken McFarland & Linda Phillips/Brewer Ingram Fuller Architects, Inc.

The McFarland Garage/6060 Fountain Road (Compatible Infill)

Wayne & Connie Whitehead

Riverdale School/7009 Thorngrove Pike (Preservation Stewardship)

Chris & Sheila Hill/Temptations, Inc/Luke Fixter

The Margolin House/603 Kenesaw Avenue (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Eric Ohlgren & Carl Keaney/Sanders Pace Architecture

Jackson Terminal/205 W. Jackson Avenue (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Knoxville Leadership Foundation/Hutchins Associates/TDH Construction

The Regas Building/318 N. Gay Street (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Reagan Design & Construction

The Hammer House/2829 Gibbs Drive (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Emerald Charter Schools/McCarty Holsaple McCarty

Emerald Academy/220 Carrick Street (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Rose Byrum

The Byrum Barn/8049 Huffaker Ferry Road (Preservation Rehabilitation)

Town of Farragut

Preservation of the Martin-Russell House/101 N. Campbell Station Road (Preservation Stewardship)

Tim & Beth Ponder

1645 Laurel Avenue (Preservation Stewardship)