East Tennessee Endangered 8 Nominations Open

The East Tennessee Preservation Alliance (ETPA) is now accepting nominations for the 2016 East Tennessee Endangered 8, a listing of the eight most threatened historic sites in our region. The objective of the list is to inform our communities about the real threat of losing these important sites to development, demolition or lack of maintenance as well as the value of what will be lost if action isn’t taken soon to avoid their destruction. Nominations are due by March 1st and are accepted for sites at least 50 years old and located in Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier and Union counties. The 2016 East Tennessee Endangered 8 will be announced on April 15th. The nomination form and more information is HERE.

ETPA has presented a list of endangered heritage sites in our region since 2010. The organization seeks to develop preservation strategies for each property included on the list. Endangered properties can be saved by working with property owners, developers, government officials, citizens and local historic organizations to find preservation solutions that work. Historic sites in Anderson, Cocke, Hamblen, Jefferson, Monroe and Morgan Counties were featured on the 2015 list. Past endangered heritage lists can be found HERE.

ETPA celebrates properties once considered endangered, but no longer threatened. The Alexander Guest House in Oak Ridge and the Arrowmont School in Gatlinburg are two high profile success stories, but grassroots efforts throughout the region have made a significant impact on places like the Oak Grove School in Union County, Brushy Mountain Correctional Complex in Morgan County, downtown Post Office in LaFollette and other sites recognized in the past as endangered.

About the East Tennessee Preservation Alliance

The East Tennessee Preservation Alliance works to preserve the structures and places with historic or cultural significance in Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union counties.

ETPA partners with Knox Heritage to serve as the regional arm for preservation activities in the 16 counties mentioned above. The ETPA board of directors is comprised of local leadership from each of the 16 counties. ETPA advocates on issues of major importance to historic preservation, collaborates with other organizations with similar interests and goals, works to educate the public on the many benefits of historic preservation and actively seeks strategies for addressing challenging historic preservation issues in the region.