East Tennessee Preservation Awards

Awards Logo

The East Tennessee Preservation Awards program recognizes outstanding individuals, organizations, and projects contributing to the protection of East Tennessee’s heritage.

2017 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Tanner Store in Wartburg for volunteer efforts to repair and restore the National Register landmark.
  • Artist Wendy Leedy for her renderings of significant historic sites in Grainger County and beyond.
  • Senator Ken Yager for advocating for financial appropriations for restoration of the Oliver Springs Depot.
  • Holston Methodist Conference and Morristown Task Force on Diversity for the Voices of Morristown College video.
  • Preservation Union County for restoring the National Register Oak Grove School in Sharp’s Chapel.
  • McKayla Floyd for leading an effort to clean up the Esslinger Cemetery in Sevier County.
  • The University of Tennessee’s Facilities Services Complex for adaptive reuse of a Marble City neighborhood industrial facility,
  • Zack Taylor and Volunteers for clean-up and restoration of the Young’s Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church cemetery in New Market.
  • Barry Thacker and Carol Moore for their efforts in the Coal Creek community (Militia Hill, historic markers, working with youth, etc.)
  • Scott Brooks for having served as ETPA President since the organization’s creation.

Read their stories in the official Press Release.

Watch the video presentation on You Tube.

2016 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Johnson Architecture for renovations to Anderson Hall at Maryville College
  • Bettina Cox-Diggs for renovations to the Cox-Diggs home in Oliver Springs
  • American Legion Post 149 for building renovations and community organizing in Wartburg
  • Frank March and Bob Lochbaum for historic cemetery mapping in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park
  • Ken and Rowena Smith for preservation leadership in Hamblen County
  • Tanner Preservation Alliance for securing funding for preserving the Tanner School in Newport
  • Mossy Creek Foundation for downtown revitalization leadership in Jefferson City
  • Sevierville Commons Association for Tennessee Main Street certification
  • Tennessee Valley Authority for the Norris Dam National Register designation
  • Crossroads Downtown Partnership and City of Morristown  forthe downtown Morristown National Register designation

2015 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Coca-Cola Consolidated for the Coca-Cola ghost sign restoration in Morristown
  • Bush Brothers for the restoration of the A.J. Bush General Merchandise Store and Visitor’s Center in Chestnut Hill
  • Duay O’Neil for history reporting in Cocke County
  • Lee Aslinger for renovations to the historic Morgan County Jail
  • Bonnie Peters for her leadership in preservation in Union County
  • Lyric Theater Company for their dedication to the historic Lyric Theater and downtown Loudon
  • Carol and Vijay Randive for the restoration of 802 Mayes Avenue in Sweetwater
  • The Department of Energy for the development of the K-25 Virtual Museum
  • Rick Murphy and George Zepp for the reconstruction of Walton Court in Historic Rugby
  • John and Aldris Kerr for renovations to 3305 Bunker Hill in Knoxville 

2014 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Wheatlands – Sevier County | Richard Parker and John Burns
  • Monroe County Courthouse – Madisonville, Monroe County
  • Lily Pad Boutique Buildings – Sweetwater, Monroe County | Brenda and David Bryan
  • Albert Miller Lea Day – Blaine, Grainger County | Albert Miller Lea Foundation
  • Union County Jail – Maynardville, Union County | Dennis Patterson
  • 52 Pine Road – Norris, Anderson County | Regina and Jeff Merritt
  • Rick Dover, Family Pride Corporation – Alexander Inn Project | Oak Ridge, Anderson County
  • Ethiel Garlington – Alexander Inn Project | Oak Ridge, Anderson County 
  • Barbara Stagg – Rugby, Morgan County | Special recognition for service to Historic Rugby and ETPA

2013 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Barley’s Taproom and Pizzeria—Blount County | Randy Burleson
  • Dean Stone, Lifetime Achievement Award—Blount County
  • Shepard Inn of Dandridge—Jefferson County | Karen and Jim Everett
  • Butler-Blanc Gymnasium—Jefferson County | Carson Newman University | Vice-President Ross Brummett
  • Greenback Depot—Loudon County | Ron Edmondson
  • Fowler’s Mill—Monroe County | Earl Alexander
  • Sweetwater—Monroe County | Mary Chappell Crabtree
  • Wartburg Presbyterian Church—Morgan County | Sharon Kreis
  • Rocky Springs Presbyterian Church—Sevier County | Helen Harwood
  • Plan East Tennessee—Maryville Mayor Tom Taylor
  • The Hemlocks – Anderson County | Susan and Marianne Fowler
  • 101 W. Norris Road – Norris | Regina and Jeff Merritt

2012 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Alcoa City Center in Blount County
  • Crawford House at Maryville College in Blount County
  • Gertrude Janeway Cabin in Grainger County
  • Sally Baker in Hamblen County
  • The Residences at Eastport in Knox County
  • West View Cemetery Project in Knox County
  • The Grove Building in Loudon County
  • Susan Kries and The Deer Lodge Historical Society in Morgan County
  • Hamilton-Tolliver Complex in Union County
  • Capital Mark Bank and Trust in Anderson County
  • Jon Overton Log House in Anderson County

2011 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Daugherty Furniture Building in Anderson County
  • “The Birth of the City” Monument Project in Anderson County
  • The Weeks House in Blount County
  • Glen Oaks in Campbell County
  • Lincoln Memorial University in Campbell County
  • Old Jail in Claiborne County
  • Rhea Mims Hotel in Cocke County
  • Old Rutledge High School in Grainger County
  • Richland Mill in Grainger County
  • Gen. Longstreet Headquarters Museum in Hamblen County
  • Jefferson County High School Service Learning Project
  • Greenback Museum in Loudon County
  • Magnolia Manor in Loudon County
  • Stephen Morris for 109 & 111 N. Main Street in Sweetwater, Monroe County
  • The Princess Theatre in Roane County
  • Charit Creek Lodge in Scott County
  • Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts in Sevier County
  • Old State Bank in Union County

2010 East Tennessee Preservation Award Winners

  • Norris Houses – Jeff andcRegina Merritt
  • Green McAdoo Cultural Center – James Cain, Chair of the Green McAdoo Cultural Center Board of Directors
  • William J. Wilcox, Jr., in Oak Ridge
  • Wilders Chapel A.M.E Zion Church at the Great Smoky Mountains Heritage Center in Townsend – Robert Patterson, Executive Director
  • Preservation Plaza in Downtown Maryville – Doug and Teresa Horn
  • Hwy 25E Scenic Byway – Linda Lewanski, Ken Coffey, David Ridenour, Lila Wilson
  • Façade Improvement Grant Program in Morristown – Mayor Barbara C. “Sami” Barile
  • Jefferson County Courthouse – Mayor Alan Palmieri and David Longmire
  • McBee House and Farm in New Market – John and Beverly Kramer
  • Murphy Springs Farm in Knox County – Kevin Murphy
  • McCollum Farm in Greenback – Timothy Grindstaff
  • Downtown Loudon – Rick Dover, Family Pride Corporation
  • Beacon Hill in Rugby – Jane Logan, President of Historic Rugby, Inc.
  • Wheat Community and African Burial Grounds – Steve Goodpasture, Bonita Irwin and Will Minter
  • Scott High School Museum Project – Gary Sexton, Teacher at Scott High School
  • Union County Cemetery Association – Ellen Perry, President of UCCA
  • Senator Howard H. Baker, Jr. – Lifetime Achievement Award